“But Daniel resolved that he would not defile himself with the king’s food, or with the wine that he drank.” Daniel 1:8 (ESV)
“I ate no delicacies, no meat or wine entered my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, for the full three weeks.” Daniel 10:3 (ESV)
The easiest and most basic guideline is to eat only things from seed. Read all labels. Make sure there is no added sweetener, nothing refined, and nothing artificial. Remember the intent behind the fast. It’s not about being a legalist and proving yourself. It’s about saying no to the flesh and yes to Jesus. We fast from food for focusing on Jesus.
- fruits – read the labels on dried fruits, many contain added sweeteners
- whole grains – whole wheat, quinoa, brown rice, buckwheat, oats, farro
- nuts and nut butters – make sure the nut butter has no added sweeteners
- spices, quality oils and vinegars
- water, unsweetened fruit juice, and unsweetened plant milk
- meat or any animal product
- sweetener – this includes honey, maple syrup, stevia, and agave (I know John the Baptist ate honey, but not Daniel!)
- fried foods – even if it started as a vegetable
- processed/refined foods
- alcohol, carbonated beverages, caffeine
Where am I going to get my protein, you ask? All plants contain protein. As long as you are eating a variety of whole, plant-based foods, you should get enough protein. Most vegetarians actually get more protein than they need! An added benefit of getting your protein from plants on this fast is fiber. Fiber is ONLY found in plants, and 97% of Americans are deficient. (source: nutritionfacts.org)
Please pay attention to your salt intake on this fast. Many canned veggies and beans, packaged nuts and seeds, as well as nut butters, are loaded with sodium. Buy low sodium or no salt added when you can. A good rule to follow is the sodium per serving should be less than the calories.
Ready to get started? Check out the recipes throughout this site, and find your favorites.